Parlez Vous the 5 Love Languages?

Posted on Posted in Uncategorized, Wedding

Each person has a primary love language that we must learn to speak if we want that person and ourselves to feel deeply loved and appreciated.

Which one is yours?

Words of Affirmation

“Thank you for cooking an amazing meal!” If your partner’s primary love language is words of affirmation, your spoken praise and appreciation will fall like rain on dried soil. Before long, you will see new life sprouting in your relationship as your partner responds positively to your words of love.

Acts of Service

Do you remember the old saying, “Actions speak louder than words”? For some people, that is particularly true of love. If acts of service is your spouse’s primary love language, nothing will speak more deeply to him or her emotionally than simple acts of service.

Receiving Gifts
In every society throughout human history, gift giving has been perceived as an expression of love. Giving gifts is universal, because there is something inside the human psyche that says if you love someone, you will give to him or her.

What many people do not understand is that for some people, receiving gifts is their primary love language. It’s the thing that makes them feel loved most deeply. If you’re married to someone whose primary love language is gift giving, you will make your spouse feel loved and treasured by giving gifts on birthdays, holidays, anniversaries and “no occasion” days.

The gifts need not be expensive or elaborate; it’s the thought that counts. Even something as simple as a homemade card or a few cheerful flowers will communicate your love to your spouse. Little things mean a lot to a person whose primary love language is receiving gifts.

Quality Time

If your spouse’s love language is quality time, giving him or her your undivided attention is one of the best ways you can show your love. Some men pride themselves on being able to watch television, read a magazine, and listen to their wives, all at the same time. That is an admirable trait, but it is not speaking the love language of quality time.

Physical Touch

In marriage, the love language of physical touch includes everything from putting a hand on your partner’s shoulder as you walk by, touching his or her leg as you’re driving together, and holding hands while you’re walking to kissing, embracing and sexual intercourse.

If physical touch is your partner’s primary love language, nothing communicates love more clearly than for you to take the initiative to reach out and touch your mate.

You and your partner may have a combination of love languages. Try get to the bottom of your love language and your partner’s to understand what makes them feel loved and special.

Happy Valentines day – may love and light shine through for you all!

The Tickled Pink Love team x

Extract taken and shortened from Gary Chapman 

Thank you to the dinner club for the inspiration x

Photo by As Sweet As Images
2015-02-28 15.15.38.jpg Love Kiss Trust sign wedding





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *